MY NEAR DEATH EXPERIENCE

All of a sudden near death experiences are the in thing, everybody is having them. I had one several years ago and it was actually one of those times I wish I asked matatu (public service vehicle) conductors questions. It was kind of a funny story that taught me that one should take more out of a physics class than the teacher saying, “Christ on a trolley!”

So it was a beautiful day way back when I lived in college hostels. I was reporting back to school which for me was always amazing because well, it meant freedom. I was far, far away from home and nobody would be checking on me and nobody would tell me what to do and I could sleep in the middle of the day without interruption, yes, for real, college for me was akin to uninterrupted sleep. Oh how, I wish I could get those days back, but I digress.

I took a matatu from Eldoret town to my school which was like a ten minute drive. I got to my destination and there was a dilemma. They did not have change, classic conductor code for, when will you ever tip? and I couldn’t go till the last stage because I had luggage. I either had to go with them and come back with another vehicle and pay again or leave my luggage go with them and come back. looking back in retrospect, was there really a problem? I can’t answer that right now, I am trying to tell the story of how I nearly died.

Fast forward and the conductors are asking me to make a decision and I am confused, I cannot even remember the amount of money they owed me. But at the time it felt like a lot. I decided we would go and I will collect my change and come back. The vehicle started moving and I looked at my bag and could not imagine losing my things for a split second i lost my mind and jumped and the vehicle was in motion.

Friends there is a reason people run when jumping from a moving vehicle, I can’t explain it in physics terms, I can only say, do not jump from a moving car if you can’t keep the motion.

All I can remember was a light,  for a few hours I heard nothing. There was blackness and then light and then I was running or not, I cannot say for sure what happened but it felt like hours and it went on and on and on. Then, I woke up to many sympathizers and some people trying not to laugh. Apparently, I was only on the ground for a few seconds not the hours it felt like which makes me imagine there is no time or space in the after life.

No, I did not break anything, as the girl I am I fell with my face on my hand. I only bruised my knee, it bled a little but my ego for sure was badly hurt. Other than that I am happy to be alive.

 

Leave a Reply

