MUHAMMAD ALI: KUJICHOCHA NAYO?

First of all, 2016, just stop. This year has taken away everybody that was anybody in their respective fields. But I guess, one day or another they would go just like all of us will at some point, sounds really bad but some realities of life just are ugly.

I am not a very sporty person, I am that person who watches football and wonder what else I could do in 90 minutes, the only sport that has won me is Rugby and of course athletics, how are you a Kenyan if you can’t scream when we win? I mean, insert very dramatic eye roll, with rugby maybe it’s the built of these guys, oh my God, the chests, the arms, the legs. That aside, rugby can get bloody, in college one of our best players broke his leg, like broke the bone peeped out of his skin and he was screaming and I almost died from the shock and pain I felt on his behalf.

That whole scenario was to explain how just one bloody sport is enough for me. But some people you just cannot ignore because they are just so damn good at what they do, enter The Legend, The Greatest, Muhammad Ali.

I am not a boxing fan but I as everybody else knew Muhammad Ali, why? In the most simplest terms alijichocha and we just had to know him but it had to start with him, from him in order to resonate to the rest of us. So today I am going to share what I learnt  from a few of Muhammad Ali’s famous quotes.

God has got me here for something. I can feel it. I was born for everything that I am doing now.

From this I got that believing in a divine purpose is a good way to look at life. Believing that we are here because we should and not just because of a cosmic accident or any other thing. The very fact that you were conceived means you were the fastest sperms, many others did not make it but you did.

Seeking God’s divine guidance in our life in whatever religion you are from is very important for our lives, it is a driving force and can help us achieve great things because, we are just not here, we are here to fulfil a purpose and one thing that Muhammad Ali knew was that he could not let God down, he could lose but not give up because he had the support of a higher power.

I am the Greatest; I said that even before I knew I was. I figured if I said it enough, I would convince the world that I really was the greatest.

Oh, this is the big one, at least for me. Kujichocha. Nobody will ever believe in you, if you do not first believe in yourself. The thing about Muhammad Ali was, he did not wait to be told you are great. I think some people just lost to this guy because they were scared because well, he thought too much of himself and that made other people think a lot about him to.

You are what you say you are. Your words become your reality.

 

He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life.

This one is a cliché but it is so true. Had he not decided to take to the ring and believe he was the greatest, what would have happened to boxing fans?

If you dream of beating me you’d better wake up and apologize

And who wouldn’t? The man had a career of 56 wins and only 5 losses. In the wins there were 37 knockouts, for the boxing virgins like me, a knockout is when you not only win, but knocked out the other person as in, they passed out. Yes, I just did that.

The many wins came from believing in himself so much that I think even his opponents most of the time believed they did not stand a chance. He also trained a lot too. This man, I tell you.

I wish people would love everybody else the way they love me. It would be a better world.

This one, I found a bit technical. Here is the thing, Muhammad Ali had enemies and he knew it, but rather than focus on them he focused on those that loved him. The ones who didn’t could go do nasty things to themselves they were just not his business and he was not going to carry the negative energy around.

From this Legend and Greatest, I have leant not to sell myself short, take the plunge, fail, get up jichoche and move on, life is too short for negativity and pity parties.

It is not the years in your life that count, it’s the life in your years.

As a man thinketh in his heart, so is he.

We thank God that such a great man, so inspirational and so passionate got to live and teach us what life is really about.

Rest in Peace Muhammad Ali you will definitely be missed.

Leave a Reply

