I AM A LITTLE TOWN GIRL

This story is inspired by yesterday’s events of the president coming to my town,(The traffic! what the hell was he thinking?) It is good for towns to grow but until then or the day I move to one of those towns trust me, I will not enjoy the chaos.

ACRES OF DIAMONDS

The Acres of Diamonds story “a true one” is told of an African farmer who heard tales about other farmers who had made millions by discovering diamond mines. These tales so excited the farmer that he could hardly wait to sell his farm and go prospecting for diamonds himself. He sold the farm and spent the rest of his life wandering the African continent searching unsuccessfully for the gleaming gems that brought such high prices on the markets of the world. Finally, worn out and in a fit of despondency, he threw himself into a river and drowned.

Meanwhile, the man who had bought his farm happened to be crossing the small stream on the property one day, when suddenly there was a bright flash of blue and red light from the stream bottom. He bent down and picked up a stone. It was a good-sized stone, and admiring it, he brought it home and put it on his fireplace mantel as an interesting curiosity.

Several weeks later a visitor picked up the stone, looked closely at it, hefted¹ it in his hand, and nearly fainted. He asked the farmer if he knew what he’d found. When the farmer said, no, that he thought it was a piece of crystal, the visitor told him he had found one of the largest diamonds ever discovered. The farmer had trouble believing that. He told the man that his creek was full of such stones, not all as large as the one on the mantel, but sprinkled generously throughout the creek bottom.

The farm the first farmer had sold, so that he might find a diamond mine, turned out to be one of the most productive diamond mines on the entire African continent. The first farmer had owned, free and clear … acres of diamonds. But he had sold them for practically nothing, in order to look for them elsewhere. The moral is clear: If the first farmer had only taken the time to study and prepare himself to learn what diamonds looked like in their rough state, and to thoroughly explore the property he had before looking elsewhere, all of his wildest dreams would have come true.

  1. What in the world is hefting? I know I can Google but brits are just ludicrous.

Same story but this version EPIC!

The story was about a farmer who lived in Africa and through a visitor became tremendously excited about looking for diamonds. Diamonds were already discovered in abundance on the African continent and this farmer got so excited about the idea of millions of dollars worth of diamonds that he sold his farm to head out to the diamond line. He wandered all over the continent, as the years slipped by, constantly searching for diamonds, wealth, which he never found. Eventually he went completely broke and threw himself into a river and drowned.

Meanwhile, the new owner of his farm picked up an unusual looking rock about the size of a country egg and put it on his mantle as a sort of curiosity. A visitor stopped by and in viewing the rock practically went into terminal convulsions². He told the new owner of the farm that the funny looking rock on his mantle was about the biggest diamond that had ever been found. The new owner of the farm said, ‘Heck, the whole farm is covered with them’ – and sure enough it was.

  1. Who says that? Is this guy melodramatic or what?

ME

I meet people all the time who tell me how I should leave Nakuru so that my mind may open up or so that I may get more opportunities. They think I do not deserve to be a small town girl and make it seem like a bad thing.

I do not say they are wrong because statistically speaking Nairobi is a better bet for anything. It is clustered and everything is there. Headquarters, all new investors start there and the population is big enough to foster business growth though competition is also stiffer.

Here’s what I think however, what is wrong with making Nakuru my very own Nairobi? Everyone wants what is already set. I’m not saying I have the power but I have never been as optimistic about anything as I am that our little towns have so much potential. The first person to build a skyscraper was the first. We just all want to believe it happened by magic but the small towns have more potential because they have a gap.

Right now Nairobi has almost no gaps. Everything you think about it is there. That’s not to say there are no people in our small towns that have taste for the expensive and sometimes ridiculous. These people are there and we still have land to develop. We are not too many and we will get surprised.

I am not saying any of this because I know your opinion on the matter or want to sway it. I just think we waste good potential by doing it how everybody does it. If you want to make it then you have to go to Nairobi or the states. I see people doing it. I see people dedicating their whole lives to wanting to win a visa but I have just never been interested. They go and I say, good they are creating more employment opportunities for me right here.

Am I saying I do not like travelling, hell no! If I had the means, I would travel everywhere; I mean who doesn’t want to take pictures at the Eiffel tower in Paris, take an evening walk in their beautiful vineyards, go bungee jumping (this I will be forgiven if I run away from), visit the Japanese or Chinese town, (these two should just have been the same) with lanterns, if I list everywhere, I probably won’t get anything else done today so long story short, ever seen one of those air emirates adverts, I really want that all of it and  more but in my ideal situation, I will conquer Kenya first, then east Africa, then north and south, ahem, the west seeing as the Naija bug just bit me.

In short, I consider Nakuru my very own acres of diamonds. I see so much potential. I see so many surprises for us in the future, I see us once having tallest building number 4 or five in the world, a girl can dream, I see myself hosting events and especially fashion shows that will be acclaimed by fashion show organizers worldwide. I love myself in this town, my small town and this town has brought my way people I can’t forget and those I can. I just feel this and any other town deserves a chance and people like me.

I know one day, probably sooner than I think, I might get one of those opportunities and leave this town or even this Country but my will I miss the quiet, the low rent, the ability to walk anywhere without having a heart attack, the lack of always being in a crowd and not having to get up at four just to get to work at eight, my God that story makes me cringe every time. Don’t get me wrong, the big town s have their benefits but I am just lazy, I can do three o’clock mornings if it’s an extra job or when studying but I won’t like to do it just to get to the one job on time.

So if I run for the chair-person for small town rights, will you elect me? Just for kicks………….

Leave a Reply

